Tenant

Chip
Active 5 days ago

Room in Bedford-Stuyvesant, 2 bedroom

    Room
    2 Beds
    1.0 Bath
    Available
    108 Views
$975 / Month

Requirements

  • Outgoing tenant fee: $0

About

Seeking a roommate in my Bed Stuy brownstone apartment available September 1

What it is: a small private bedroom in an airy 2BR Bed Stuy brownstone apartment. The room already has a full-sized bed frame so you would only need a mattress. Cozy and light filled, and the living areas are large, plus a great kitchen that is already packed with pots, pans, and dishes. Great for a student at Pratt, or someone who wants a great apartment vibe and may have a car (easy parking, usually on the block). If you work from home it is a light filled space with a skylight, and there is room for a desk in the main areas.

What makes it different from the available Bed-Stuy rooms is that you only share with one other person, not a group of 20-somethings sharing one bathroom. I am a gay male and looking for someone responsible, clean, and mature. The building is non smoking.

The room is small but efficient; it can come partially furnished (see images) or you can bring your own furniture. I have shown it with a double sized bed frame, a small IKEA dresser, a bedside table and clothing rack.

This is a great room for someone who needs a furnished room, and someone who does not need a ton of storage for clothing (there is no closet, but there is room in the hallway for coats and jackets and shoes). Perfect for someone who travels to NYC for work often and needs a place that is efficient, or someone who lives with a boyfriend/girlfriend and needs a place of their own for times when they are not hanging out. It is small but the public spaces are large, and the kitchen and bathroom are great.

$975 plus utilities. Washer/ Dryer in the apt; room for a dresser in the living area and a desk if you need a desk area.

Available Sept 1. The apartment is on the top floor of an 1880s brownstone, and the living area is large and airy. There is a great kitchen, high ceilings, and a chill vibe in a great space.

The bedroom is in the front of the house with a window and adjacent to the living room, with lots of light. There is a great kitchen (I cook often) with plenty of storage and counter space and a washer/ dryer (additionally there is a laundromat around corner for comforters and big loads). There is a large grocery store around the corner (Ideal Food Basket) with a good selection of produce and organic stuff, and there are restaurants close by. It is a great block in a section of the neighborhood that is changing rapidly, and easy travel to local subways. I have never felt unsafe here, and the neighbors all look out for one another. I’ve been here 3 years and have never had a problem. Also, if you have a car the parking is easy. There is space in the living area for a desk if you work from home. I have cable and wifi, and if you want more channels we can discuss.

The bathroom is in the back of the apartment, and it is modern and clean (the house was renovated about 10 years ago with all new electricity, plumbing, and appliances).

On proximity to trains and buses: Walkable to the A/C, J and G trains, and bus lines on Lewis and Marcus Garvey (to and from the A train). The Lafayette Avenue bus line gets you to and from the Pratt area/ G train at Bedford/Nostrand in less than 10 mins. There is a large park nearby (Herbert von King) and a public pool. There are lots of restaurants nearby the park and the Bedford/ Strand G stop (a 10 min walk) and more and more retail activity happening in the opposite direction towards the J train and the Broadway/ Kosciusko area. The Myrtle/ Broadway stop on the M is a 5 minute bus ride from Lewis and Greene, and the Kosciusko J is a 10 min walk, or a five minute bike ride. The Kingston-Throop A/C is a 10 minute walk, and buses go to and from there up Garvey and down Lewis regularly. I am fine with making it work, and adjusting the main space to accommodate your needs. I don't have a couch--2 arm chairs, but if you have a loveseat I am happy to make room and get rid of one of the chairs. Perfect for: * A student at Pratt (my lease runs until July 31, 2020) and easy to get to and from campus on the Lafayette bus line. There are also Citibikes one block away.

Who I am: I am a gay man in the arts (photography/set design/prop styling) and have a home office in the apartment (I am renting the room as I have moved my work space to a new studio in Ridgewood where I am building a new business). I grew up in the NYC suburbs and have lived in Brooklyn since the late 80s. I'm 55, but I am young at heart, and hang mostly with younger friends in the arts. If you think my age is an issue you should come meet me, and we can talk; I'm pretty sure your idea of 55 will be challenged. I'm responsible and mature, but funny and easy going, and have a vintage clothing business and sell art and antiques in addition to interior design and styling projects. I worked for 10 years at Real Simple magazine where i did home makeovers for the photo department, and was a magazine writer before that. I have an active social life but not a party lifestyle, and am a seasoned New Yorker (30 years) and visit my family in Connecticut most weekends. If you are a student I will say this: parents like me. I am also fine with living with a male or female. I have an active social life but not a party lifestyle, and am a seasoned New Yorker (30 years) and grew up in Westchester and Connecticut and visit my family in Connecticut most weekends.

Email me with questions or to schedule a viewing.


Joinery saves you $1,755 by connecting you to an outgoing tenant instead of a broker.

Joinery

Total fees: $0


Tenant fee
$0
Joinery fee
$0

Traditional Brokerage

Total fees: $1,755


Broker fee
$1,755